Lost Generation – LeSia Armstrong

                As I walk into my church, several girls and boys sit in their seats quietly. Why? Because their time is occupied by some handheld game. I’ve walked into a room before and seem multiple children with forms of technology in their hands. However, they can’t talk. This 4-year-old can effectively master its way through a game of “Where’s my Water” but can’t recite their alphabet to me. I see that as a gigantic problem. As a society we have become so dependent on technology that if all technology stopped working now we wouldn’t be able to function properly. I’m not saying that all technology is bad and that the technological advancements that this country has made in the last hundreds of years weren’t beneficial. But I do believe that as a result we have deprived our younger generations of the things they truly need.
We use technology for everything. Now it doesn’t even take using more than one device, you can have a cell phone that you can call, text, play games, and send emails and so much more. On just one device. So what happens when you have like 3 devices? More now than ever children own all kind of electronics. Kids wake up and the first thing they do is grab their cell phone, or iPod. It sometimes gets so bad that the parents even get tired of it. Instead of giving a kid a book to read, they hand over a phone and say “sit and be quiet”. Kids know that if they make enough noise then they’ll get a game to play. The children at my church do this all the time. Instead of interacting in service, they sit and play games. So when they ask to play on my phone and devices I say no sometimes. Instead lets go downstairs and dance or play games. Electronics have become a mean of getting your kid to be invisible for a moment, which in turn causes them to become dependent on them. For example I cannot walk into a math class without a calculator, I would be completely lost. How is it that mathematicians were able to create and solve such complex problems in the past without a calculator? That befuddles me. If they were able to do it decades ago, we should be able to do it now. But instead of being taught basic principles we are taught how to use a calculator. I’m not saying that everyone who uses a calculator is dumb but I think that it’s because of technology that the US is behind China in academics. An A- in China is like an F. Of course there are other variables that contribute to this but I truly believe that electronics are a main contributor. In some instance people will say that technology is helping society rather than hurting. But I think it puts us at a disadvantage when it comes to things like standardized test.
I agree that social networks, apps, and internet all have their share of separate purposes. I know for events at my church we post flyers on Facebook, Twitter and sometimes Instagram, and that’s suitable. But would it be more effective to hand out fliers in person? I just believe that technology is making us lazy. In other parts of the world they may disagree…In Latvia some youth used the internet to get an “e-petition” signed. Why couldn’t these kids stand outside of buildings and get signatures like regular people? It was out of laziness. Technology is the easier way to go about things. It doesn’t involve much activity to get on a computer, but getting up and driving to the library is excess work we don’t feel like doing. As a generation I have to say that we have become very lazy because of technology. I would rather type a paper than hand write it. I’d rather “Google” something than go to the library and find it inside of a book. A lot of kids can’t even tell you how to find information inside an encyclopedia anymore because they have conformed to the internet, what happens when the electricity goes out? Considering that there is a possibility of a solar flare in May of 2013 this could actually happen. Solar flares interfere with electricity. As a nation would we be able to tap into our survival skills for the day?

Leave a Reply

